top of page

mau5trap and Insomniac Team Up for Twelve Track Album

Article by: Sam Wolloch

For the second year running, iconic labels mau5trap and Insomniac Records collaborated on a captivating compilation album with some of the top talent from the house and techno scenes. Mau5trap x Insomniac Records: Volume 2 comprised 12 tracks, featuring six songs from each of the two powerhouse tastemakers of electronic dance music.

Getting the album started for team mau5trap is “Badder Things” by No Mana featuring Fay, an anticipated follow-up track to the 2018 song “Bad Things” by No Mana and i_o. Team Insomniac answered right back on track two with its debut of the South African starlet Kyle Watson and his wonky house hit, “Way Down.” About his debut, Watson is “really happy with how this track came out, and I’m pumped for it to be my first feature on Insomniac.”

Another familiar face on the mau5trap roster, veteran producer Tommy Trash made a notable return with his tantalizing tune “4U.” The other four artists representing for mau5trap - Speaker Honey, SVNF8 (pronounced seven fate), HVDES, and Bentley Dean - are all back with the label after successful releases on its 9th yearly comp album We Are Friends Vol. 009. Personally, I found HVDES’s song “Memory of U” insidiously catchy, with its emotional lament leaving a lasting impression.

Moving up from imprint IN / ROTATION to Insomniac Records, Steve Darko reunited with Plastic Robots after their remix of four years ago to produce the new single “Time’s Up.” Darko remarked “I’ve wanted to do a record on both Insomniac and mau5trap for a while now, so I couldn’t be happier about where this landed.” The other artists on board for Insomniac include Jay Robinson, MASTERIA, Body Ocean, Casmalia, and NOISES. You can definitely pass me the new Jay Robinson and MASTERIA collab “Pass That,” as their peppy house tune just might be my favorite on the album.

Celebrate the release of Mau5trap x Insomniac Records: Volume 2 with a very special Virtual Release Party livestream event on Insomniac TV, Saturday September 26 from 7:30pm to 1am PST featuring the following artists from the album (listed in alpha order): Bentley Dean, Body Ocean, Casmalia, HVDES, Jay Robinson, MASTERIA, No Mana, Noises, Speaker Honey, SVNF8, and Tommy Trash. All of the artists’ Spotify pages are linked in the article, and you can follow and listen to the two labels using the links below. Finally, don't forget the Moon Lvnding Spotify playlist New Music Friday Heat is updated every week with all the freshest new fire for you to enjoy.

CONNECT with mau5trap

Website | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter

LISTEN to mau5trap

Spotify | Apple Music | Beatport | SoundCloud | YouTube

CONNECT with Insomniac Records

Website | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter

LISTEN to Insomniac Records

Spotify | Apple Music | Beatport | SoundCloud | YouTube

bottom of page